How is there a world that remains when not being perceived?

Any topics primarily focused on metaphysics can be discussed here, in a generally casual way, where conversations may take unexpected turns.
HelenAmery

How is there a world that remains when not being perceived?

Post by HelenAmery »

I’m not an expert here, which you’ll probably tell from the question! But I reckon you all can help with where my understanding is missing something.

Reading The Idea of the World Ch3 and BK writes about the world only ever being known as images via all sensory modalities, on the screen of perception.

So I get that if I’m on a chair I only experience the chair via sensory images. There is no chair outside of that.

But if I pass out unconscious on the chair, although there is no experience of chair, the apparent chair doesn’t vanish and leave me in a heap on the floor. I’m aware that I have no way of knowing this doesn’t happen and that the chair could reappear as I come round. And that if someone took a photo of me passed out on the chair all I’d know is the photo which is still only appearing as a sensory image.

I guess my point is, yes we’ve only ever known a world via sense perceptions, but that world seems to remain even if I’m not consciously perceiving it at the time.

All help gratefully received!
Jim Cross

Re: How is there a world that remains when not being perceived?

Post by Jim Cross »

I think this is fatal flaw in the parsimony argument that idealism makes.

To get around this problem there needs to be an assumption of a mind at large that is perceiving what you feel as the chair while you are unconscious. Or that the chair you perceive is composed of little excitations of consciousness itself.

There isn't any way to prove this mind at large exists. There may be hints of something in various transformative experiences but we have no way to know if these hints are errors of perceptions themselves.
HelenAmery

Post by HelenAmery »