The source of the 'Hard Problem of Consciousness'

Any topics primarily focused on metaphysics can be discussed here, in a generally casual way, where conversations may take unexpected turns.
LukeJTM

The source of the 'Hard Problem of Consciousness'

Post by LukeJTM »

Hi all! This is my first time posting on here. I don't know many people on here, I heard about this forum's existence through Discord. But, I don't know how many people on here have used Discord, I think AshvinP goes by the name Awakening Soul on there--he has shared links to some threads on here through Discord to different people (including myself).

I am writing this post to see if anyone here has insight they'd like to share regarding the so-called hard problem of consciousness and its origins (or similar). I know that a few people on here are interested in Rudolf Steiner's epistemology, I am trying to use it for this post.
As far as I understand he encourages people to introspect on themselves and the activity of thinking itself, which seems to be a core facet of esoteric practice. Gaining inner freedom, in thought and action, seems to be the central focus of Steiner's "The Philosophy of Spiritual Activity" (die Philosophie der Freiheit). The way to inner freedom is using introspection or meditation, becoming conscious of what is unconscious within ourselves (which is basically depth psychology).
Steiner tried to demonstrate that knowledge is gained in two core ways: perception (e.g. sensory observation) and concept (e.g. the ideas we have about objects in the sense-world). However, Steiner seemed to argue that the ideas we have about objects are actually shadows of ideas which come from spiritual domains of nature, and give rise to physical processes, and our experiences; we need to do introspective work to gain fuller knowledge of those Ideas (and the beings producing them). Goethe seemed to have a similar approach.